Hello old friends!  How goes it in the food blogging world?  I have not stopped checking in on you, but I am afraid I have fallen off the wagon.  No, I am not an alcoholic.  I am referring to the lack of posts.  It has something to do with my 7 month old, but really I have losts my imagination in the kitchen.  WTF?!  Where di it get off to?  I must search it out…

In the meantime, I did make something kind of interesting.  A soup that I threw together, on the first day of cold and rainy weather here.  For real, we just came off of a week in the high 20’s!!  Yes, summer was prolonged.  Ahhh, so nice.

This here soup is something that you can throw together in a jiffy.  (Hey, I just thought of something – is that why Jiffy peanut butter is named that? Because you can make a pb sandwich in a “jiffy”? Cool).  This is not one of those slow-simmer-for-hours soups.  This is a soup that you can get you slurp on with in about 20 minutes depending on how big you chop your veggies.  It has an asian flair with the sesame oil essence and the saltiness of soy sauce.  Get creative and add what you like.  Throw in a pair of chopsticks and it’s authentic 😉

Asian Noodle Soup

4 cups chicken broth + 2 cups water

1 chicken breast

1 leak

2 carrots

a small clamshell of mushrooms (button or other of your choice)

1 package thin egg noodles (soba noodles would taste good here too)

a big handfull of fresh snap peas

2 cloves garlic

1 tbsp minced or grated ginger

1 tbsp sesame oil

2 tbsp soy sauce

Pour in the broth, water and the chicken breast into a large soup pan.  Add the garlic, ginger, oil and soy sauce.  Bring up to a boil.  Meanwhile chop the veggies (minus the peas) and toss in.  After about 15 minutes remove the chicken breast and shred with two forks or rough chop with a knife.  Toss the pieces back in.  Right at the end stir in the noodles and peas.  Let cook according to the package – usually no more than 5 minutes and then you’re done.  Serve with extra soy sauce and sesame oil to add if you like.

 

