Yes, I proclaimed this when I took my first bite of this dish. Mama’s back!  Lately I have been deep in sleep-deprived mode and I have been happy just to get dinner on the table.  Literally get anything to eat on the table.  Little Pea (aka LP) has been our focus for the past 12 weeks.  12 weeks!  How they have flown by.  LP has gone from 9lbs to roughly 14lbs and has developed a little personality.  We have settled into a routine of eating, activity, sleeping and some time for myself.  This time has been spent out in the stroller or sling getting errands done and visiting with friends.    It is ten after nine right now and I just got LP to sleep.  She likes to do this crazy crying sometimes right before bed.  That is awesome.  That was pure sarcasm….  But I guess that is where the expression “cried herself to sleep” comes from.  Besides that little tidbit, she wakes up laughing and puts her charm on for the remainder of the day.  She’s so cute I could just squish her!

So, I’m back, but don’t get too attached….I will be back and forth but hopefully I’ll be posting something new pretty regularly.  Maybe a Banana Cream Pie 😉  At one point, I thought this site was a feature of my past, but when you are in the baby fog, you cannot see the end so clearly.  At last, I am here.

I think I raised my fork in the air and yelled to Mr. F “I’m back!” and he laughed his jolly laugh and agreed.  He liked this recipe I came up with too.  I had some leftover arugula from a variation of this recipe  in the fridge and racked my brain on what to do with it.  Arugula is not something that we usually have in the fridge.  It has become more normal since being over here, but that doesn’t mean I really know what to do with it.  What do you do with it?!  It has a such a distinct peppery flavour.  So, I went out on a limb and thought that like spinach, it might wilt down quite nicely in a pasta.  Add a little cream and then some lemon juice for brightness and we had something going!  This is what I like to call a “warm” dish.  It’s not hot, but it’s not cold, it’s just right.  Just right for the spring.

What is your favourite dish in the spring?

Warm Arugula and Spaghetti – by me

3 big handfuls of fresh arugula

250g spaghetti

1 boiled chicken breast, shredded

1/4 cup cream

1.5 tbsp lemon juice

1/2 tsp ground garlic (or to your taste)

s+p

Some grated pecorino or parmesan

Ok, here’s how I did it.  I put the cleaned arugula in a big serving bowl.  I brought water to the boil and cooked the pasta, drain it and poured the pasta over the greens. In the meantime, I also boiled a chicken breast in a little water and then shredded it with 2 forks. Toss the shredded chicken over the pasta.

In the pot that I cooked the pasta in, I mixed the cream, garlic powder, lemon juice and salt and pepper.  The cream will thicken a little due to the effect between the cream and lemon juice (ie – buttermilk trick).  The warm pot will warm the sauce.  Pour the sauce over the the chicken, pasta and arugula.  Toss it all together. The arugula will wilt a little from the heat of the pasta and the chicken.  Top with the grated cheese and serve family style!

