We are super lucky here in Delft since there are 3 market days a week.  The booths go up the night before and the vendors set up the next morning rain or shine.  They even go in the winter!  Well, winter here isn’t quite winter like I know it in Canada, so that may not be saying much, but they do set up on the super windy rainy days which is quite brave.  There are stands selling many things including: fruit, veggies, cheese, clothing, bathing suits, yarn, material, candy, specialty foods, spices, electronics and of course, flowers.

The one thing I am missing here is the fudge stand.  I’m sure they have some little cubes at the candy store, but it is just not the same.  In Calgary, I would frequent the Grassroots Northland Farmers’ Market on Tuesdays.  There was the bread lady, the kettle corn and the fruit and veggie stand with athletes doing the selling.  We always went for our regulars, but ever few weeks the fudge stand, Meg and Mom Fudge, would catch my eye.  Buy 2 and get 1 free or something like that.  What a deal!  I couldn’t help but try a sample or four of their handmade fudge.  Maple walnut, mocha, OH and chai. Mind blowing.  The lady told me to put it in the freezer and take it out when I wanted some.  She even suggested to melt a cube into coffee.  Good idea.

Needless to say, I had a small stash in my freezer through the whole summer.  Since it wasn’t in front of my face, I would forget about it and then bike home from training as fast as I could on the days that I remembered it was sitting there, chilling, just waiting for me to take a tender bite of the rich sweetness.  The good thing about fudge is that you don’t need to eat a lot at once to be satisfied.  If you do eat too much at once, you get what I call “sweetness in the belly.”  Sounds good, but it is gut rot from too much sugar.  Not nice.

Before the holidays I found this recipe on Cookies and Cups, my go-to sweets site.  The pictures alone made me want to make this candy.  Since I am treating these last few weeks of pregnancy as the chance to make everything I won’t have time to make after the baby, I got down to business.  It was surprisingly easy!  And the result is rich melt-in-your-mouth fabulousness with some oreo cookie crunch for texture.  Now I just need that chai fudge recipe…

Cookies and Cream FudgeCookies and Cups

3/4 cup butter

2/3 cup sweetened condensed milk

1 cup marshmallow fluff

1 tsp vanilla

2 cups white chocolate chips or bars chopped up

2 cups crushed Oreos

1 cup coarsely chopped Oreos (for the top!)

Start by preparing all your ingredients.  This comes together quite quickly and you don’t want to be caught frantically stamping Oreos on the floor while you are worried that your mixture is going to set.  Not like I did that or anything.  Prepare a 9 x 9 inch pan (or there-abouts) with tinfoil and spray it with cooking oil so to prevent sticking.

For the fudge, start by melting the butter and sweetened condensed milk together in a pan on low to medium  heat stirring occasionally.  When the mixture comes to a boil, turn heat down slightly and simmer while continuously stirring for 2 minutes.  During the boiling you might experience some separation.  Don’t worry, it will turn out in the end!  Remove from heat.  Add chocolate and stir until it is all melted.  Next add the vanilla, marshmallow fluff and crushed Oreos.  Stir to combine. Pour out into prepared pan.

Finally, take your coarsely chopped Oreos and sprinkle them over the top pressing them down lightly into the mixture so that they stick.  Slide the dish into the fridge and wait about an hour until it is set.  Waiting overnight ensures a strongly set fudge.  Yum!

