Here is the post I promised.  A nice bread for a side of soup.  These biscuits are perfect on the side of soup, salad, stew or chili.  As you all may have noticed from the blog, I am not much of a baker.  Yes, I have my mainstays like Mr. F’s favourite chocolate chip cookies and a good pizza crust, but beyond that I always feel nervous.  When I do take the plunge I am usually surprised at the ease of the whole thing and also pretty dang proud of myself.  These biscuits are no exception.

Let me tell you a little something funny – baking powder biscuits were the first thing I ever made on my own.  The setting:  a small home-economic’s classroom kitchen in grade 7.  Remember home-ec?  I secretly loved that class.  Cooking, baking, sewing, learning about the colour family you look best in – this is all the other side of me that some don’t know about.  As long as I am letting it all hang out, I will confess that at the moment I am obsessed with crocheting.  Yup, a closet crafter in an athlete’s body.  Well, a 6 month pregnant athlete’s body – is that an oximoron? 

Now that you know me a little better, let’s get on with these biscuits.  So, they make these things for the first recipe in a home-ec class.  That indicates their ease and what is nicer than home-baked bread straight from the oven that was a cinch?  That is why I make these so often.  Also this recipe uses ingredients that I always have on hand.  I used to add an egg, but when I tried my friend A.J.’s when we were over for dinner at her place, I omitted the egg on her advice that they come out way flakier.  She was right.

These biscuits are flaky, buttery, light, soft centered and crispy crusted.  They take barely any time to whip up and are a welcome warm side to bowls filled with stuff.  If you wanna take them up a notch, they are a perfect vehicle for cheese and herbs like in the ones I made with the Tomato Soup.  Please try them, they may become a staple in your home as they have in mine.

Baking Powder Biscuits – greatly adapted from Grandma’s Touch Cookbook

I am giving you a recipe that makes approximately 10 small biscuits.  If you want more, simply double the recipe.  If you are adding anything to them (grated cheese, chopped fres herbs, etc), add it before the milk, right into the flour mixture.  Do not knead, just form into a flat circle and cut out the shapes.  Here, I just used a knife and made triangles, but circles are traditional, so it’s your choice.  Maybe even a cookie cutter would add some fun!

1 cup flour

0.25 cup cold butter, sliced into pads

2 tsp baking powder

0.25 tsp salt

0.5 cup milk

Preheat oven to 450 degrees farenheit (230 degrees celsius). 

If you have a food processor:  Throw the flour, baking powder and salt into the processor.  Add the butter and process until the mixture looks mealy.  Take out the blade or transfer to a bowl and add the milk.  Stir until just mixed and then turn out onto a floured surface.

If you don’t:  Add the flour, baking powder and salt to a bowl.  Add the butter and use a pastry cutter or a fork to cut in the butter.  You are finished when the butter chunks are about pea-sized.  Add the milk and stir unit just mixed.  Turn out onto a floured surface.

  Use your hand to form a flat circle about 1 inch thick.  Use a sharp knife to cut out shapes or an upside down glass to cut out the circles.  Place on a sprayed or parchment covered baking sheet and bake for 10-12 minutes at 450 degrees fahrenheit (230 degrees celcius).

