If you bucked up and made your own pumpkin puree for that Thanksgiving pumpkin pie, then good on you!  Also, you may have a tiny bit leftover.  Ok, maybe you have a boatload left over.  I sure do.  So, without a freezer to store that goodness up, I had to come up with some pumpkin puree recipes.

Turns out, I really like pumpkin containing recipes.  I have this pink notebook that my Mom wrote all my favorite recipes in for me when I moved away from college.  The cover is ripped off then taped back on, there is a phone number scrawled on the front and inside, the first few pages are graced wit my Mom’s gorgeous handwriting and then the rest are from yours- truly (trying to copy that cursive of hers).  The pages are well used, there are stains everywhere on it, but that just shows how much I use it.  Nothing like the homecooked stuff Mom makes.  Through the years I have added many recipes.  Some I have never even made (what?!), others I come back to often. 

The pumpkin recipes are ones that I have added to the “pink book”.  I have 3!  And trust me, I needed 3 recipes to use all this stuff up 🙂

Number 1.  Pumpkin Swirl Brownies.  I am not a huge fan of brownies, I know – who am I?, but that is just a fact.  These brownies really get me going, though.  They are swirled chocolate with a warm spicy pumpkin batter.  They are moist and lovely.  They are by Matha Stewart and blogged about on several other blogs.  Check out this one for the recipe.  Mine were gone before I got the camera out!

Number 2.  Pumpkin Cookies.  These hail from a ways back.  I don’t even know where they come from, but according to my handwriting, looks like it was from around 2001-2002.  I know, I can date my own writing.  Can’t you? These cookies are a little more like muffin tops.  They are light, fluffy and spicy. Yum!  Substitute the raisins with chocolate chips and you will get that sweetness you might want in a cookie.  Or try this number.

 

0.5 cup softened butter

1.25 cups packed brown sugar

1 cup pumpkin puree

2 tbsp apple sauce

1 egg

2.25 cups all purpose flour

0.5 tsp ground ginger

0.5 tsp cinnimon

.25 tsp nutmeg

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp baking powder

Mix wet and dry seperately and then combine.  Drop by the spoonful on a baking sheet (lined with parchment paper).  Bake at 350 degrees farenhiet for 12 minutes.

Number 3.  Pumpkin Muffins.  These guys are so right for the morning or for a snack or right before bed or warmed up and spread with butter…. Did I mention that I love these?  It says here in the book that I got the recipe from a program called Fuel For Gold back at the Olympic Oval, but I remember them most from my last roomie – Tobes!  I can’t eat these without thinking of her. 

  

2 cups whole wheat flour

1.5 cups all purpose flour

1 cup sugar

4 tsp baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

1 tbsp ground cinnamon

1 tsp ground nutmeg

1 tsp groung ginger

.25 tsp salt

1.5 cups raisins (can substitute in chocolate chips)

1 398ml pumpkin puree (about 1.75 cups puree)

2 cups buttermilk

3 eggs

1.25 cups raisins or chocolate chips

Mix the dry and wet seperately and then combine.  Bake at 375 degrees farenheit for 18-22 mins.  Makes 24 muffins.  If you want to frost with cream cheese icing: combine 1 cup icing sugar with 1 block softened cream cheese.

Now get baking!  And if you make this all and you still have some leftover, ahem, then bake another pumpkin pie.

