So, now that the cat’s out of the bag, I can finally tell you all about the horrible things that have preyed upon my love of food in the past 3 months.  This foodlova was getting her heart broken.  Not by Mr. Foodlova in the least, but by the new palate I have developed.  Yes, everyone hears about the “cravings” of a pregnant woman.  How lovely, to eat all and everything you like!  I was jealous of the stories of pickle and ice cream cravings because isn’t sweet and salty my favorite combo?  Yes, it is!  I could not wait to taste the deliciousness of this weird combination, but knew that I would love it, if I was actually craving it. 

But alas, the “cravings” have not hit me yet.  For the past 3 months I have been hit by something much more grave.  I have always wanted a superpower and usually picked flying as the one that would be most useful, but  I was graced with a different sort of superpower – the superpower of smell.  I know you are instantly thinking that I could smell pie baking miles away or fresh-baked bread that A.J. was baking over the ocean in Canada, but I must correct you.  It is not the delicious smells that I am referring to.  It is the horrid smells that have increased in volume?, I mean, power? Well, whatever smell does when it increases. 

I have come to smell the inside of the fridge from behind the closed bedroom door.  I have smelled the dinner of the hundreds of other people living in the huge apartment block, but most disturbingly of all, I have smelled the braising meat of the Turkish pizza shops littering the streets of the Netherlands.  Why oh why must I detest the smell of cooking meat?!  When we first moved here, I couldn’t get enough of the Turkish pizzas.  Now, I am getting to know the pain of the vegetarian and understand the feelings of the characters in The Year of the Flood

This superpower nose that I have been granted has made recent meals quite bland.  Macaroni, rice, bread, apples, soup.  I even got my Mom to bring over some Cream of Wheat for me to eat for dinner.  Now I bet you gentle readers would just love a whole blog about how to make Cream of Wheat, but I have so far saved you from that fate.  So, I have had to adjust and eat whatever seems to be my fancy of the day.  Anything with tomatoes, fresh fruits and veggies, cereal, toast, you get the picture.

Now, I am sure I have sufficiently spurned your appetite, but wait!  I have something for you here.  Since I am on the meatless kick, I have ventured into some vegetarian cooking.  Take this here quiche for example.  Have I ever made a quiche before? No.  Have I just broadened my culinary horizons? Yes!  Now why don’t you try out a vegetarian dinner for a change, too?  Good for the digestion, good for the environment and good for those of us with superpower nostrils.

note: Mr. Foodlova quoted me that no man eats quiche, but he still liked it even though he is a man.

Kale Quiche – adapted from Smitten Kitchen and Martha Stewart

I got this recipe from the archives of Smitten Kitchen.  She praises this recipe as one of her go-to’s so it was obviously very tasty.  She has a whole section on vegetarian fare that looks quite delicious.  I tweaked the recipe a little since I used frozen kale instead of spinach, just because they have it readily available here.  I also added less than it called for because I thought that it would be little overpowering.  And yes,  I know that it has eggs and cheese, but I was going for the meatless, people.   Iserved it with a side of corn on the cob.

Crust – Martha Stewart’s Pate Brisee without the sugar

**click on the link and follow her instruction.  Mr. Foodlova was at work making the dough, figuratively, so I had to make this dough myself.  It was pretty easy, so don’t be scared!  Make one half of the recipe for one crust.

Insides- Smitten Kitchen spinach quiche

1 brick cream cheese (I used the low fat version and it worked well)

0.33 cup milk (or half and half or cream…)

3 eggs

1 package of frozen chopped spinach/kale, thawed and drained (I used about 2/3 of the box instead of the whole thing)

0.5 cups grated cheddar (I used 0.25 cups more cheddar and omitted the parmesan she has in the recipe)

4-6 green onions thinly sliced

0.25 tsp of both salt and pepper

Start by making the crust and letting it chill for 1 hour (I waited ~40 mins and it was fine).  While the dough is chilling, start with the inside.  Beat the cream cheese until smooth and then cream in the milk and eggs.  Next, toss in the spinach/kale, grated cheese and green onions and stir.  Season with the salt and pepper and set aside.

Roll out the chilled dough on a lightly floured surface and press into a 9″  (28 cm) pie dish or quiche form.  My pie dish is actually an appletaart dish, so the sides are higher than normal and therefore I did not push the crust all the way to the top.  Pour in the filling and pop into a 425 degree farenheit (220 degrees celsius) preheated oven.  Bake until the crust is golden brown and the inside is set – 25-30 minutes.  Let rest for 10 minutes before cutting into it.

