Hi there!  It’s been a while since my last post, but I have a good excuse.  I am moving to Europe!  The Netherlands to be exact.  I am moving to the land of Gouda.  Thank the lordy!  It is all very exciting and we are between houses right now.  We have moved in with Arne’s parents and now are moved in with my parents.  Less than a week to go and we are jumpin’ over the pond to our new home.  The first 2 months we will be in a temporary situation – a furnished one bedroom.  I am quite worried about the kitchen fixings.  What kind of pots, plates, stove, etc will it have?  I already got a little freaked when I made these cabbage rolls with my Mom.  What plate was I going to use for the pictures?  I already miss my blue rimmed Denby’s….

Enough about that!  Let’s get to the real deal here.  You are in big time luck right now.  I am coming through on my promise from last post.   Do you know how many people get an authentic cabbage roll recipe straight from a Ukrainian Daughter?  Not many.  And here you are – about to read the recipe for my favorite dish.  I bet you tried to find this on the net or in a cookbook.  Well, traditional recipes like this one just don’t seem right unless you are getting it straight from the horse’s mouth.  This is just that.  You’re welcome.

These rolls are the sour cabbage variety.  If you love sauerkraut – these are to die for.  And trust me, you may feel like dying a little the next day if you ate as many as I did…

My granny makes the regular cabbage ones with more rice than meat in the filling.  Those are another story all together.  This Easter weekend I indulged in both varieties.  Maybe my next recipe will be a diet one.  We really went for it out here in Saskatchewan.  There’s nothing like Mom’s food or like Big Bob’s Burgers (my Dad’s a BBQ genius!).  And when that feeling coincides with the fact that I won’t be eating it for months to come, let’s just say that I ate my fair share.

Sour Cabbage Rolls – Gail Simpson

500 g (1 pound) ground beef

500 g (1 pound) ground pork

1 large onion, diced

2 cloves garlic, minced

1 cup uncooked long grain white rice

1 head sour cabbage

2 tins tomato soup

salt and pepper

In a large bowl mix all the ingedients except for the sour cabbage.

Take the cabbage and core out the stem.  Gently separate the leaves and lay on a pan.  Set aside 2 or three of the largest leaves.  Save all of the juice from the cabbage and reserve for later.

In a large roaster, mix the 2 cans of soup with 2 tins (2 cups) water.  Season with salt and pepper and a little garlic powder.

Take a leaf and trim the thick center vein.  Lay flate and on one end fill with 3-4 tbsps of the rice and meat mixture.  Roll the end over, fold in the sides and finishe rolling.  Refer to pictures above.  Place in roaster, seam side down.  Preheat over to 400 degrees farenheit.

When the roaster is full, pour the can of diced tomatoes overtop.  Also, pour over the reserved cabbage juice.  Cover with the large cabbage leaves you set aside at the beginning and any other letfover leaves.  If there are no leaves left over, use a jar of sauerkraut. 

Place roaster in the oven.  After 10 minutes reduce heat to 325 degrees farenheit and cook for 3 hours.  You may have to add one cup of water about half way through the cooking time.  They are great left over the next day!

