I have a new obsession. Pinterest.  First of all, let me explain to you what this is if you don’t already know.  It is a website that acts as a message board for all the coolest things people find on the world wide web.  I could  just keep scrolling and scrolling down the endless page of pins.  Well, sometimes I do…  SO many interesting things. Anything from hair do’s to nail colours and recipes to quotes.  I have saved many a link.  Especially for crocheting.  When I am going to find time to do all this crafting, who knows? But, man, I am loving this resource.

There also have been many a recipe saved.  Althought, pinteresters are keen on slow cooker recipes involving pop and also baked goods involving pop.  A little cringe worthy, but also….. interesting.  You see what I mean?  Lots of cool stuff.  So, brought to you by Pinterest is this lasagna soup.  I think it’s a cool twist on a favourite.  I love me some lasagna.  My mother is actually known far and wide for her lasagna.  She says the secret is cooking it in the stone, but whatever it is, it is the one thing that is always requested from family and friends alike. So, I am like a lasagna connoiseur, if you will.

This recipe is basically lasagna soup. Ok, duh, that is what it is.  Lasagna with a thinned out sauce in a bowl.  I thought it was easier/quicker than making the real thing.  And it was also kind of cool to have a switch up.  With the foggy, chilly, cold weather here, soup really does hit the spot better than anything else. On the whole I give this soup a 9 because I can get all the goods from a real lasagna in it, have the cosiness of soup to warm my chilled bones and it is interesting (or should  I say Pinteresting?).  Happy slurping!

Lasagna Soup – adapted from this link A Farm Girl Dabbles (check out her picture -delish!)

You could definitely add some veggies into this soup.  I like to put zucchini and broccoli in my lasagna, so why not in the soup?

2 tbsp oil

1/2 tsp red pepper flakes

2 tsp dried oregano

2 cloves garlic, minced

1 onion, diced

300g extra lean ground beef

2 tbsp tomato paste

1 28oz can or 2 smaller cans diced tomatoes (she used fire-roasted, so if you can find it…)

4 cups chicken broth + 2 cups water

2 cups dry mini lasagna noodles (or rotini etc)

For the cheese dollop:

cottage cheese or ricotta

grated mozzarella

grated parmesan

Start by heating up some oil with the red pepper flakes, oregano and garlic.  I’ve been doing this lately and it seems like the seasonings really come alive inthe warm oil.  Have your onion and beef ready to dump in before it burns though.  Once yo ucan smell the oregano and garlic, dump in the onions and saute for about a minute and then dump in the beef and break it up.  Continue cooking until the beef is browned.  Now, stir in the tomato paste and cook for about 1 minute.  Next, in goes the tomatoes, broth and water.  Bring this all up to the boil and simmer for 30 minutes.

When you are 10 minutes away from serving, throw in the dry pasta and cook until al dente. While the noodles are softening in the soup, prepare the cheesy dollop.  Mix together some cottage cheese or ricotta and some grated mozarella and paremesan and dollop it into the bottom each bowl.  Pour the hot soup over the dollop and throw on some fresh basil if you like.  Serve immediately.  Makes 8 servings.

 

